Fun Japanese food

I love sushi. I love Japanese food and their drinks, cold or hot. Second to Japanese food comes Spanish Tapas. Safe to say, I love food that’s served in small portion but with a big variety.

When at a Japanese restaurant, I love picking up my food of the food conveyor belt. It’s simply appetising to see food served on such tiny plates and its freshness as it passes my eyes. The bento is good too but limited in choice though I don’t mind having some of those compartmentalised bento boxes.

Today I managed to replicate a few of my favourite sushi. It wasn’t as difficult as I thought it to be but preparing sushi, is a very meticulous job. A lot of slicing and dicing which must be handled with care or else it’s a sure way to cut your fingers. You need to work in batches, just like an assembly line at a factory.

Everything served for dinner was made by me except for the Inari pouches and the Udon noodles.

image-1

This was my first attempt at making a Tamagoyaki or in simple English it means egg roll. It’s a series of thin pancake like omelette rolled together to form a spongy omelette. It was an interesting way to cook eggs. I might be making more of this since my kids loved it served chilled so it definitely be good for their school lunchbox. I used 4 eggs, 1/4 tsp of soy sauce and salt, 1 tsp of sugar and 1 tbs of milk. Mix (gently to avoid air bubbles), cook and layer these thin omelette. Best you check out a video on YouTube.

image

Next for my Inari pouches, I used Thai long grain fragrant rice and reduced the water when cooking it. I also reduced the cooking time because I wanted a sticky consistency rice. Easy for me to stuff into the Inari pouches. I made salmon and cheese Inari, served with a little cucumber, sweet corn (fresh steamed corn mixed with some mayonnaise & soy sauce) and tamago sushi. I rolled the salmon with a little cheese in it and drizzled some lemon juice before stuffing it into the inari pouch.

image(2)

Japanese food is incomplete without some noodles. Since I didn’t have all the necessary ingredients to make Kitsune Udon (especially Dashi, which is rather hard to find here and I wasn’t willing to settle with the ready made powder stock in packets)  I used my famous chicken broth with some seasoning and served with some boiled and drained udon. Of course with a sheet of inari pouch to make it look more authentic. I didn’t add any spring onions because it was raining cats and dogs, and I wasn’t willing to risk getting wet trying to trim some fresh spring onions from my vegetable garden.  (To make this soup, all you need is some Chinese red dates, wolf berries and a slice of ginger. Slow cooking it for at least 11 hours or overnight)

IMG_20160226_110956

My kids enjoyed the udon noodles and the Inari sushi. They are my biggest critics and have requested for me to make more. So now I can say, Japanese food no sweat. What’s your favourite food?

Thank you for stopping by at BeeRaise. If you enjoyed my story why not share it with others & let’s stay connected for more:
 [Facebook] [Twitter] [Instagram] [Google+]
Leave a Reply

