Dinner for one

IMG_20160602_193428_1464883606533

Love notes, angry notes, apology notes and I miss you notes. Words on colourful note pads, on pages torn out of magazines, beautifully illustrated on old wedding invitation cards, scribbling on my wall and the most unforgiving art on my handbag. I have them all.

Some bring joy and tears, making me regret my actions and almost always finds it way to melt my anger. It never failed to mend hearts.

The biggest contributor of these notes is my second born. The creative one. In many ways (except for the creative part) she is so much like me. We both express better in writing our thoughts down instead of verbalising it. Writing down words gives me the space to think before responding (at most times), though some may disagree. Because there is too much space or distance for a misconception to occur.

I’ve written love notes to my kids, hidden them in their school lunch box, wishing them a wonderful day. My way of sharing the joy I received each time I found a hidden note. But it has been a long time since I wrote a note to my husband, so it was time I did something about it.

I have not hand written a note to my husband in a long time (needless to say, I’ve got bad handwriting) so it was high time I did something about it. I placed it on his dinner. A small reminder to thank him for all that he has done for us and mostly because I just wanted to share the joy of finding a hidden note.

It was my way thanking him for many things; for not demanding or expecting too much, for being extremely ok with the simple dishes I serve or not serve at all or for returning to a house that looked like a ladies lingerie department (something hard to miss when you’re living with 4 ladies). 

It was also part of an elaborate plan to make it hard for him to be upset with the simple dinner I served him yesterday, while the girls and I enjoyed a feast at my mom’s, whom by the way makes the best and one-of-a-kind, allo parathas. So yeah, the note was my way of saying, “It’s the thought that counts honey.”

Ha! But to my surprise he loved my simple dinner. He said it was something he would not mind having every night.

Intrigued? All I made was a simple onion omelette and a special potato salad. It had to be the salad.

I basically combined two of my bestest chef’s recipe in whipping up my husband’s dinner.

IMG_20160602_202506

Ingredients for potato salad;

Smoked salmon, baked potatoes, onions, garlic, lemon juice and zest,  mayonnaise, fresh parsley and mint leaves, crushed black pepper and salt

Thinly slice some smoked salmon and fry it in a wok with sliced onions and chopped garlic. Fry until they are crispy, almost like bacon. Then add some lemon juice, lemon zest, pepper and salt. Drain and put aside.

In the same wok, fry  overnight cold boiled (with skin on) russet potato, diced. Add 1/4 teaspoon of mustard seeds. Once these start browning, add chopped parsley leaves and mint leaves (you could add some spring onions too but I was out of it). Squeeze about a teaspoon of lemon juice or more depending how you like it. Transfer to a bowl. Add some mayonnaise (& a small amount of English mustard) and mix to combine. Throw in the fried salmon and serve it.

IMG_20160602_192359_1464884044966

The omelette is pretty straight forward. Crack some eggs, add a dash of salt and whisk it with a fork. Grease a pan with (a lot) butter, pour in the beaten eggs and sprinkle some sliced onion rings on it. Once it’s done, flip over and let it cook until golden brown. Serve with a bed of fresh curly salad leaves and the potato salad.

Voila! Dinner for one is served. It’s quick, easy and nutritious too (if you don’t mind the butter and mayonnaise).

Go ahead, give it a try but make sure to add the note, that my friends is the secret ingredient. I kid you not.

 

Thank you for stopping by at BeeRaise. Hope you enjoyed my story  & let’s stay connected for more:

 [Facebook] [Twitter] [Instagram] [Google+]

 

Leave a Reply

