Easy peasy clam spaghetti

This has to be the quickest and easiest seafood spaghetti I’ve tried. It uses Jamie Oliver’s recipe but I had to tweak it because I did not have white wine. (To view original recipe just search for Clam Spaghetti, Jamie)

It literally took less than 20 minutes to prepare this dish and is best served straight off the fire. I only started cooking it while my girls were showering after their football practice and it was done by the time they were ready for dinner.

The only time consuming and tedious task is the cleaning of fresh clams. You need to let them sit in freshwater for 20 minutes, then scrub the shell, soak again for another 20 minutes and then keep rinsing it under running water to remove all sand of it. Clams that don’t shut tight should be given a gentle knock and if it is still open, best to discard it. Do the same with cracked clams, because those are definitely not fresh.

Enough chitty chat and straight onto how to make this clam spaghetti.

To serve a party of four, you’d need;

400gm spaghetti, cooked al dente

1 kg clam

1/2 cup halved cherry tomatoes or 2 medium sized tomatoes, wedge

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 medium onion, chopped

4 dried chilies, washed

A handful of fresh parsley. Use both leaves and stem

3 green lime or 1 lemon

1-2 cups of vegetable broth/soup (enough to almost cover all clams in broth)

(Optional): 1″ turmeric root, 1/2 galangal root, thumb sized ginger, pounded to a smooth paste is preferable but I was too lazy so I did what I could (enough bruising to allow its juice to come out)

These are the roots I pounded but galangal is not in this picture

Cook spahgetti in salted boiling water (about 6 minutes). Start off with frying the roots (pounded stuff) in a deep pan with some oil. Once fragrant, remove as much root possible, draining the oil from it because if not pounded to a smooth paste, these would taste like twigs in your sauce.
In the same oil, fry onion, garlic and red dried chilies. Add tomatoes and cook for a couple of minutes. Keep an eye on your pasta, it should be done by now and not be over cooked. Tip in the clams and let it cook for a couple of minutes on high heat. Add the broth, coriander and lime juice, let clams simmer. Discard any unopened clams. Season with salt and pepper.

You may add cooked spaghetti into the clam pot or serve the clam sauce over spaghetti on a plate. Whichever way you choose, you must serve it ASAP 

That’s how I made my white wine free, calm spaghetti. By the way, the roots were added because I had them. Turmeric, ginger and galangal gives a very nice colour, aroma and flavour to seafood dishes. Check out my turmeric rice I made a couple of days ago on my FB page. 

Hope you’ll enjoy this as much as my kids did it. My tween had three servings of it! I would like to believe that it was because my calm spaghetti was tasty and not due to the football training she returned from. Bon appetite!

for more recipes head over to:  my recipes page
Thank you for stopping by at BeeRaise & let’s stay connected for more:
 [Facebook] [Twitter] [Instagram] [Google+]
Leave a Reply

